New 52 – week 3

Yes, I’m still stuck in the kitchen. Not literally stuck there, but I have been having all sorts of kitchen adventures this month. You may be wondering what this photo has to do with my New52 project. With all the cooking I’ve been doing, was this the first time my counters have been clean? Good guess, but no. My kitchen has actually been staying pretty clean since I’ve been using it on a regular basis. Do you see that cutout where my cookbooks are? That’s where our microwave used to be. For the first time in my adult life, I don’t have a microwave!

I’ll admit that I was a bit nervous about getting rid of such a well-used kitchen appliance. How was I going to bake potatoes? Never mind food, how was I going to heat up my coffee in the morning? You know what? I’m getting along just fine. I’ve had to plan ahead a bit more because I had to steam the potatoes instead of nuking them. And I’m probably drinking a bit less coffee because it’s not quite as convenient to heat it up by putting my cup in a pot of water on the stove (although it tastes better this way).

I’m actually enjoying being in a microwave-free kitchen. I feel like I’m finally learning how to cook. You know what I miss the most about the microwave? The clock. I don’t have another clock in the kitchen (yet), so I have to go into the other room to see what time it is.

Have you taken the plunge and gotten rid of your microwave? Do you think I’m totally crazy for getting rid of mine? I’m curious what you think!

This entry was posted in 2012 Goals, Healthy Eating, New 52. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

