What’s Important Right Now

I find that the start of a new school year is a good time to evaluate the things I’m doing, set priorities, and usually make a few changes. This is a general overview of what’s important to me – and our family – right now. I’ll be discussing many of them at greater length in the coming weeks and months.

The most important thing in my life is my relationship with God. I also hope that my boys feel the same way about their relationships with Him. That’s easy to say, and I really do mean it; however, when I look at how I spend my time my activities don’t really reflect this priority. That is changing. The first step is to spend more time reading the Bible, praying, and simply being quiet and listening.

My family. Next to my relationship with God, my family is everything. At this point in my life, my purpose is to be a good wife to my husband and raise my boys to love and follow the Lord. Again, easy to say – more difficult to put into practice. There are a few practical things I’m doing right now (or starting soon) to fulfill this purpose. In no particular order –

  • Be intentional. Relationships take work and I need to focus on each relationship and give each of my boys (big and little) some undivided attention.
  • Pray for my husband and sons. I pray for my family as things come up, but I feel like I’m not praying enough and not for all the right things.
  • Keep the Sabbath holy. After the busyness of the week, we need to spend time together as a family and focus on each other and on God.
  • Help my kids find activities they enjoy that build them up in mind, body, and spirit. Support them in those activities. Don’t allow them to become too busy.

It’s also important to me to take care of our physical bodies. To that end, I’m trying to feed us well and eliminate as many toxins from our food and environment as possible. I’ve also started to exercise again so that I stay healthy and provide a good example for my children.

Make our home a sanctuary. A home should be a place of peace, a refuge in the midst of a crazy world. It should be clean and welcoming, and a place where we feel physically and emotionally comfortable and safe. This had not been a priority for me until recently. It’s not something that comes easily to me – or anyone else in our family, apparently. Were working on it.

Scrapbooking. I know it may sound kind of funny that scrapbooking is a priority for me, but it’s important to me for a few reasons. Our scrapbook albums aren’t just a collection of pictures and some words, they’re the story of us. They’re part of our family’s memories. They’re letters from me to my family. They’re a record of how we feel and what we’re doing at different points in time. Making the pages gives me a chance to go back and remember different seasons of our lives. And much like blogging, putting the words on the scrapbook pages makes me think through what I’m thinking and feeling. Scrapbooking can also be therapeutic. If I’m feeling frustrated or sad, the act of working with my memories helps me to become positive again.

This blog. I’m viewing this blog as a kind of journal. A very public journal. I want to feel accountable to post in this blog, because writing these posts makes me think and pushes me to action.

Finally, and somewhat paradoxically, I’m commited to simplifying. Yes, I’ve listed a lot of priorities. However, If I can cut out the “stuff” that isn’t important, I will be able to focus on the things that are. That means decluttering  – and a lot of it. Getting rid of the physical clutter in our home. Simplifying my daily routines. Reducing the number of e-mails I receive, blogs I read and people I follow on Twitter. It means making some hard decisions about how I choose to spend my time.

I’m glad you’re keeping me company on this journey – I think it’s going to be a wild ride!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Important Right Now

  1. Best wishes on your important things. I can so agree with you on many of them and you echo my feelings about scrapbooking!!

Leave a Reply

