I’ve been thinking about my photo/scrap goals for 2012

As this year draws to a close, I’ve been thinking about what’s worked for me in the past (and what hasn’t) and trying to narrow down my memory keeping goals for next year.

What I did in 2011

I tried P365 this year and realized that I just didn’t enjoy it very much. I made a month’s worth of pages, but just wasn’t sure that I wanted to print out an entire album of these weekly pages, especially since so many of the photos could be incorporated into my regular pages. What I did like about P365 is that it got me taking pictures of all sorts of things – and I’ve kept that up even though I didn’t stick with the project.

I signed up for a bunch of photo and scrap classes this year and made it through some of them. I picked up a bunch of workshops at Big Picture Classes when they had their 50% off sale and haven’t even had a chance to look at them yet.

I also purchased a lot of kits that I haven’t used yet.

Looking forward to 2012

Noticing a trend? I do. I think my primary goal for 2012 is going to be to follow through with the stuff that I started and didn’t finish in 2011, although there are a couple of new things that I’d like to try.

New 52 – I like the concept of trying something new every week. I’m not sure if this is something I’ll photograph or scrap every week, but I’ll try to do 52 new things and at least make a summary page at the end of the year.

120 – This was inspired by Tara Whitney’s Six People Twelve Times project, where she took a photo of their entire family once a month for a year. I really like that idea – especially since we typically only take one or two family photos a year. I want to expand it a bit, though, to make sure that I get photos of me & my hubby and one good photo of each of us individually each month. So… 4×12 (family) + 2×12 (me and hubby) + 1×12 + 1×12 + 1×12 + 1×12 (individuals) =10×12 or 120. No particular goals for scrapping these photos as a project, I’ll just use them on my regular layouts. I just want to try to take more photos of our family and us as a couple.

Monthly Roundup – I really like the idea of these monthly roundups that Katie Nelson does. I think I’m going to try doing something similar. Definitely for me and I may try to adapt it for my kids, too. Again, I’m not sure if it’s something I’ll scrapbook on a monthly basis, but I’d love having the record of those things that we did/liked every month.

Besides those new things, I want to continue/finish projects that I started in 2011:

I took Stacy Julian’s ‘Finding Photo Freedom‘ class and want to get back into the habit of working with my photos several times a week – keeping up with tagging my new photos as well as continuing to go through my older ones.

SSD Portfolio – I started the year strong doing the portfolio, but just kind of petered out. I’ve been looking back at my portfolio layouts and I love them, so I really want to get back into doing them. Not so much for the discount, although that’s nice, but because I’ve made some pages that I love that I wouldn’t have made without it.

Classes – I want to work through all the classes I purchased in 2011 and either didn’t finish or haven’t looked at yet. The classes are aimed at improving both my photography and scrapping skills. The end result – pages I love even more than the ones I make now! There are a few new classes I’m thinking about taking, although I’m hesitant because I have so many older classes to work through. I think that Twelve: A Journey to Inspired Scrapbooking, by Stacy Julian, would be a great complement to Finding Photo Freedom. I’m just not sure that I want to commit to another year-long project (and an expensive one at that). I took a leap of faith (so to speak) with FPF, though, and loved it. Another class that I’d like to take is Roundup Your Memories by Katie Nelson. Since my main “memory-keeping” goal is doing the monthly roundups, it would be a good fit. And, at $15, not a huge monetary commitment. I’ve been following Cathy Zileske’s “Move More Eat Less” series on her blog and she has a new year-long class, Move More, Eat Well 2012. This isn’t so much of a scrapbooking class as it is a way to stay motivated about getting healthier and a tool to record that journey. Finally, there’s Ali Edwards’ class One Little Word 2012. Last year was the first year I chose a word to focus on for the year (focus was my word) and I liked having it. I think I have my word chosen for this year – “simple”. I’m torn about taking the class, though. The class would probably help me keep my word in mind throughout the year, however taking the class seems counter to the concept of the word – keeping things simple. We’ll see.

Scrap supplies – I really want to use the supplies I have in my stash, many of which I haven’t used at all. My ultimate goal is to use each kit once for each dollar I paid for it, but I’d be happy if I end 2012 with half as many (or even 2/3 as many) kits that I haven’t even used once. I think I have 131 unused kits now (insane!), so it will take a lot of scrapping to reach that goal, especially since I won’t be able to resist buying a few new supplies along the way.

I’m trying to keep my goals pretty easy for next year because most of all I just want to enjoy this hobby. I think I’m right on the border of “just enough” and “too much”. It’s possible that I’m on the “too much” side. I’ll have to give this a bit more thought before I make a final decision.

This entry was posted in Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

