Goals – How I did in 2011 and What I’m Aiming for in 2012

It’s the end of the year and I thought I’d revisit the goals I made at the beginning of the year and decide what my goals for 2012 will be. I had 15 goals for 2011 – which was probably a bit much. How did I do?

  • Finish Robert’s quilt I didn’t touch it all year.
  • Finish front garden We rimmed the garden in landscape blocks and laid down weed guard and mulch over most of the garden. We’re planning to do the rest of the mulch this spring when we can order more from the Boy Scouts.
  • Finish window treatments No progress.
  • Keep up with p365 Did p365 for a couple of months, then decided I didn’t want to do it any more.
  • Organize and decorate craft room Started the year with a reasonably clean craft room, then let it get messy again.
  • Finish and print 2009 album Changed from chronological albums to the LOM system, so this no longer applied.
  • Read through the Bible Read more than I have before. I have a Bible reading plan on my iPad and I’m continuing to make progress.
  • Pray daily I set myself up to fail with this goal. Didn’t make it.
  • Lose 20 poinds Ha! I think I’m ending the year at about the same weight I started it. Considering that I tore my ACL in June, that’s probably acceptable.
  • Exercise 4 times a week Nope.
  • Drink plenty of water I did pretty well with this one.
  • Feed myself and my family healthy meals For the most part I was successful with this goal. I’ve started cooking mostly from scratch with real ingredients.
  • Keep the house reasonably clean This was challenging for me; I wasn’t able to get around well because of my injury. The boys started being more helpful, though.
  • Be a good helper for my husband Success
  • Spend more time with Robert and Steven Success

Here are some of the things that I accomplished this year that I wasn’t thinking about in January:

  • Printed 174 digital scrapbook layouts
  • Rearranged my scrapbooks from chronological albums to the Library of Memories system.
  • Sorted through and donated many of the supplies in the craft room. 
  • Sorted through my Creative Memories albums and put all unused albums, pages & page protectors in the attic (as a temporary measure until I decide what to do with them).
  • Decluttered hundreds of pounds of stuff from the house.
  • Organized our Christmas decorations.
  • Fixed several broken ornaments.
  • Made the Christmas album for my family’s gifts. 
  • Started successfully keeping a budget with YNAB (You Need a Budget) software in November.
  • I started reading again. I think I read at least 20 books this year.

Overall, I had a good year and was relatively productive. My focus shifted from some of the goals I made at the beginning of the year and I accomplished different things. That’s okay, because I was getting something accomplished. I liked having goals even if I didn’t accomplish many of them, so I’m going to set some goals again for 2012. I’d love to do some projects like ‘365 less things’ and, maybe, p366. I don’t tend do do well with projects where I have to accomplish something every day, though, so I’m not going to try. In keeping with my focus word for 2012, simple, I’m going to attempt to make some simple goals.

12 Goals for 2012

  1. “New 52” – I want to try something new each week.
  2. I wrote about my Scrapbooking EQ here. I’m not really going to set any goals, except to stay relatively current with the classes I’m taking – Twelve, One Little Word, and Monthly Roundup.
  3. Develop better healthy eating and fitness habits. I’m not going to be more specific here, because this will be somewhat guided by the Move More Eat Well workshop.
  4. Continue to reduce the amount of chemicals that we consume and use around the house.
  5. Continue to reduce the amount of waste that we generate.
  6. Spend time each week decluttering some area in the house.
  7. Finish twelve (non photo-related) projects around the house and yard. Some possibilities are finishing Robert’s and Steven’s quilts, hanging the remaining window treatments, re-doing the backsplash in the kitchen, and setting up a raised bed or container garden.
  8. Continue tracking our budget in YNAB software and end 2012 with no non-mortgage non-vehicle debt and more savings.
  9. Continue making progress on my Bible reading plan. I hope to finish it in 2012, but I’m only about 1/6 of the way through now so that may be a bit of a reach.
  10. Complete the lessons for “Experiencing God”, the Bible study we’re doing in our Sunday School class this year.
  11. Continue to be a good helper for my husband.
  12. Continue to spend plenty of quality time with Robert and Steven.

The experts would probably say that some of these aren’t good goals because they’re not quantifiable, but I don’t care. I chose to put these things here with the hope that I’ll stay focused on them. If I make goals too specific, I have a tendancy to have a harder time being motivated to accomplish them. So, there it is. My goals, my way!

I hope that 2011 was a good year for you and that 2012 will be even better!

This entry was posted in 2012 Goals, Miscellaneous Ramblings, Simplifying. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Goals – How I did in 2011 and What I’m Aiming for in 2012

  1. Tanyia says:

    I love your goals you have set forward for this year … I am so just feeling a deep need to be cleaner, healthier, have less clutter… things like that. Good luck with your goals!

  2. Darcy says:

    Great goals, Kate!!! Good luck with them in the New Year!

  3. Wow…that’s quite a list of goals! It sounds like you have a really great year ahead of you. I would love to hear more about the “Twelve” class. It sounded very interesting. I am taking “One Little Word” and am so excited about it. And congrats on getting all of those layouts printed!!

  4. Marla says:

    I think your goals are awesome! Happy 2012! 🙂

    Marla @ http://www.blueskiesphotoblog.com

  5. Britt says:

    Love your goals, though they would be way too much for me. I think having something to work towards helps.

  6. MaryinAZ says:

    Love your ambition! And how awesome that even if you didn’t accomplish everything you set out to in the beginning, you had so many new accomplishments!

  7. Those are fantastic goals! I think that even though you didn’t accomplish everything you had hoped to at the beginning, you accomplished so much you hadn’t even considered, so I think it’s a HUGE accomplishment!

  8. Monique says:

    Wow, congrats on your accomplishments! I love how you documented your progress (or lack thereof) but then also remembered all the other things that you accomplished last year. And I love your new goals, a lot of general ones that are just as satisfying but more attainable. Have a great year! 😀

  9. Star says:

    Love your goals for the year! And the update on last year 🙂
    Love the update on last years goals and the extra that you accomplished that you didn’t set out to.

  10. Lynnette says:

    You’ve got some great goals there! Reducing our waste and sticking with our budget are two of mine for this year too.

Leave a Reply

