Move More Eat Well – The Beginning

January first is finally here! I was eager for today because my three year-long scrapbooking workshops started today – yippee! I focused on Move More Eat Well today. We were challenged to commit to making one change in January. I thought about committing to a certain number of workouts a week, but decided that might not be reasonable because I’m not sure day-to-day what my knee is going to be able to tolerate. Instead, I decided to commit to drinking at least 64 oz. of water a day. Every day. Proper hydration is key to overall health and to endurance during workouts. I’m typically not very successful remembering to drink enough water, so I think that choosing this as my January change will be beneficial.

I was finally able to get back on the exercise bike today – for the first time since my surgery in October. My knee has just not been flexible enough to pedal all the way around in a circle. I think it’s a very auspicious sign that today, on January 1st, the first day of Move More Eat Well, I was able to do my first real workout in 2-1/2 months! In addition to the bike, I did ten good push-ups and ten good sit-ups and some stretching for my leg muscles. It felt rather pathetic to do such a small number of push-ups and sit-ups, but I have to start somewhere. I was able to do many more in the past and I know I will be able to again.

I wasn’t able to get a good “before” picture today, so I’ll share the cover page of my journal instead.

 2012 is off to a healthy start. One day down, 365 to go!

This entry was posted in 2012 Goals, Move More Eat Well, Small Changes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Move More Eat Well – The Beginning

  1. First off, you are SUCH a gorgeous woman! I love your goal to Move More, Eat Well… I really strongly considered taking the course, but I’ve already committed to a lot, so I think I’m skipping it and saving up for next year’s! I am anxious to follow you on your journey, though. Knees can be tricky, especially post surgery (I’ve had a few of those myself, so I totally get where you’re coming from). I hope you have a wonderful year and that your hydration goals work for you! 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    such a great goal!! You’ll make it through it.

  3. mrshobbes says:

    YAY you!!! I really, really wanted to get this class but don’t have the funds for it, so I’m striking off on my own by incorporating a little bit more exercise into my days. I think you look gorgeous–no doubt by the end of this you’ll be a bombshell 🙂 Congratulations on finishing your workout–here’s to more!

  4. Monique says:

    Great new goals! Drinking more water is a great place to start 🙂 Good luck! 🙂

  5. Good luck! I struggle with the water drinking thing too

  6. I’ve heard great things about that class! I really need to make drinking more water a goal for myself. I reached my WW goal last year, but I’m a little over it now. Good luck in your journey this year!

  7. Star says:

    Woot good luck with the project x

Leave a Reply

