Operation Declutter 2012

That’s a pretty fancy way of saying that I want to get rid of stuff this year. Or should I say that I want to get rid of more stuff this year? I started decluttering our home last year and things have definitely improved, but we still have waaayyyy too much stuff.

Before I go any further, I should clarify what I mean when I say “declutter”. for me, this means I’m going to be removing the item from my home (and my life). I won’t own it any more.

One of my 12 goals for 2012 (#6) is to spend some time each week decluttering an area of our home. I really like the idea of identifying something each day to remove, so I’m going to attempt to declutter a bit each day. It shouldn’t take more than 2-3 minutes to identify something that’s cluttering our home each day. This is what I’ve done so far:

Day 1 – I added four shirts to the bag of clothes that are going to the Costless Closet at our church. These are perfectly good shirts, and I wear them occasionally, but I have plenty of shirts that I wear more often.

Day 2 – I added some hangers to the bag. Since I’ve been getting rid of clothes, we have too many hangers and they’re just getting in the way.

Day 3 – I got fed up with having to reach around these hair items that were hanging in my closet. I kept one pack of bobby pins.

Day 4 –  I took a harder look at my hair stuff and decided that I didn’t need these scrunchies, either. I wore them occasionally, but I’m 43 years old and don’t really need to be wearing hair scrunchies anymore. Somebody else may enjoy them.

So far, so good. We’re 4 days into the new year and I’ve removed 4(+) things from our house. Well, they’ll actually be out of the house on Sunday when I bring them into church. I’m considering them gone, though 🙂

This entry was posted in Declutter, Simplifying. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Operation Declutter 2012

  1. Star says:

    Wow great idea with the decluttering, I moved house before Christmas and could not believe the amount of stuff we had that was clutter x

    • Kate says:

      It always amazes me how much junk we accumulate. We usually purge when we move, too, but we haven’t moved in 4 years. It’s time to be deliberate about decluttering!

  2. Fantastic decluttering! I have so much that I’m working on decluttering right now… Yesterday, I was cleaning out my bathroom cabinet, and found 22 bottles of lotion. 22! Who needs that much lotion? I’ve asked people to please stop gifting it to me, and to smack me if I try to buy any more.

  3. Lani says:

    hmmmm.This makes me think i need to do an operation declutter. Probably should have been one of my 2012 goals too! I have a tuperware cupboard full of containers with no (or warped) lids, lids with no containers, plus various take out containers/jars etc that ive felt the need to wash out and keep for who knows what reason. This was the first thing that came to mind when i read your post.

  4. MaryinAZ says:

    I want those hangers! LOL We never have enough hangers around here. However, that probably means that *I* need to declutter our closets. Oh well, that’s not on my 12 for 12, so I guess it will have to wait until next year. 😉

  5. Darcy says:

    Sorry – they’re small, but I’m NEVER giving up my scrunchies! I have pretty thin hair, though lots of it, and the ouchless bands just don’t work for me, so I love my little tiny scrunchies 😛

    Great job on the goal. It’s definitely one I’m seeing from a lot of folks this year!

  6. aprattphotog says:

    Nice work!
    I’ve been doing some decluttering this week as well, preparing for a new house (sometime in the next 6-8 months) I plan on going through again & getting rid of more.

  7. Lynnette says:

    Way to go! That’s a great start. We don’t really have a ton of clutter but the house we’re in now is majorly lacking in closets so a lot of the stuff that used to be organized in our old house has no place to go now. So decluttering is definitely on my short list of things to do right now too.

  8. mpatry says:

    Great job decluttering! It’s something I do occasionally too. One of my rules is if something new is bought clothing-wise, then something has to leave to make room for it. It keeps the closet and dresser from overflowing and from getting cluttered. 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

