New 52 – week 1

I’m not a big shopper. This probably doesn’t come as a big surprise since I’m trying to reduce the amount of stuff in our home. My biggest guilty pleasure for shopping is buying digital scrapbooking supplies, but at least that only clutters up my hard drive. So, I find it somewhat ironic that my first “New 52” was a shopping adventure.

Yes, that’s right, I finally made it to a Whole Foods Market! I’ve been hearing so much about this store, but there isn’t one that’s terribly convenient so I hadn’t been. I had to pass by one last week, so I jumped at the opportunity to do a bit of shopping. What I was really excited to explore was the bulk section. There were a number of offerings in the bulk section, but not as many as I had expected. I bought some bulk organic oatmeal, steel cut oats, wasabi peas, pumpkin-flax granola cereal, and some bulk tea. I made the mistake of going into the store hungry, so I couldn’t pass up the prepared lamb curry with lemon rice which I ate for lunch.

Will I go back? Definitely. There was a nice variety in the bulk section and the prices were reasonable (in the bulk section). The wasabi peas were a hit – even with Steven, who refuses to eat peas. I can also see myself buying soap and possibly makeup there. I can tell that I’m going to have to be careful – it would be easy to empty my wallet in that store.

This entry was posted in 2012 Goals, Healthy Eating, New 52. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New 52 – week 1

  1. mrshobbes says:

    YAY you for embarking on this New52 adventure! And I wish we had a Whole Foods here, I have feeling I’d go nuts with the produce, lol 🙂

  2. Tanyia says:

    I love Whole Foods 🙂 yummy! They have great meat and fish options.

  3. JenM says:

    Oh yay – good for you! I told my hubby we’d start shopping a store like this when we could finally afford it. Well – now we can afford it, but this itty-bitty town doesn’t have a place like it (grr, lol). Good luck on your New 52 adventure!! 😀

  4. stacey42 says:

    We have one an hour away. I use it to stock up on bulk things every few months. Watching Living Social & Groupon, they sometimes do $20 gift certificates for $10.

  5. Darcy says:

    We are judicious in our shopping at WF. We shop the outside of the store, only. And an occasional fun beverage. But I have to stay out of those middle aisles. We do a lot of cheese there (their cheese selection is the best we can find in our area), and a lot of bulk items. And yes, those $10 off $20 GC are HUGE when they happen!

Leave a Reply

