New 52 – week 2

My plan is to post these on Mondays and, in case you hadn’t noticed, it’s Tuesday. Yesterday was a holiday which meant that my hubby and kids were home and I decided to enjoy the day with them rather than spending it on the computer. It’s my blog, so I get to do what I want 😉

After shopping at Whole Foods last week, I had ingredients for a few new recipes. And a mistake on Amazon meant that I had a new cookbook, too. What mistake, you ask? I’ve been downloading a bunch of free books for the Kindle app on my iPad. One of the books that was on the free list wasn’t really free, but I clicked “buy” before I realized it and ended up with a $3.99 bread cookbook. I’ll tell you right now – that cookbook is well worth the money I paid for it! It explains how to make bread without spending a lot of time kneading and letting it rise – basically you mix up the ingredients and let the dough sit in the refrigerator overnight. That’s my kind of recipe! I made a loaf of bread with mashed pinto beans and it was soooo yummy!

So far, I’m the only one who’s really been excited about the bread. Sean likes it, but he doesn’t tend to get excited about food the way I do. The boys prefer the bread that I buy at the store – a honey wheat that’s okay nutritionally, but not as good as homemade. They’re going to have to get used to homemade, though, because I hope to phase out store bought bread within the next few months. I’m already starting to research making my own flour.

The cookbook had a dozen or so recipes – I’m looking forward to making the english muffins!

This entry was posted in 2012 Goals, Healthy Eating, New 52. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

